Big Success For ICMA Ceremony And Gala In Warsaw
Saturday, 12 April, 7:30 pm
Warsaw Philharmonic - Concert Hall, ul. Sienkiewicza 10

The International Classical Music Awards (ICMA) organized their Award Ceremony and Gala Concert yesterday at the Philharmonic Hall in Warsaw, hosted by the Ludwig van Beethoven Easter Festival. The Award Ceremony was presented by ICMA's President Remy Franck, and awards were given to such artists as Charles Dutoit, Krzysztof Penderecki, Andreas Staier, Adrien Boisseau, Joseph Moog, Andrea Bacchetti, Daniel Hope, Holger Schröter-Seebeck and Signum Quartet. After the Award Ceremony, the Gala concert took place at the Philharmonic Hall, which was sold out since weeks.

German "Signum Quartett", winner in the Chamber Music category, amazed the audience by a powerful version of Schulhoff's "5 Stücke für Streichquartett" and Daniel Hope, winner for this DVD "Terezin", performed poignantly the Solo Sonata by the same composer. Joseph Moog was he sovereign and masterful interpreter of Pastorale E minor by Domenico Scarlatti/Carl Tausig as well as Walter Gieseking's majestic Chaconne on a theme by Scarlatti. Andreas Staier played Schubert's Diabelli Variation. The second part was brilliantly and powerfully opened by the Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra with Charles Dutoit (Lifetime Achievement Award) as conductor in Hector Berlioz' "Carnaval Romain".

Andrea Bacchetti performed Johann Sebastian Bach's Concerto BWV 1058 with much clarity and true musical feelings, assisted by Iuventus Sinfonia under the baton of José Maria Florencio. Young Artist of the Year Adrien Boisseau movingly played Max Bruch's Viola Fantasy with a beautiful and sensitively shaped sound. Krzysztof Penderecki (winner in the category Contemporary Music with his complete symphonies) conducted his Adagio and Holger Schröter-Seebeck, representing the SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg (Special Achievement Award), concluded the evening serenely with a most tender version of Georges Bizet's Adagietto.


Domenico Scarlatti / Carl Tausig - Pastorale in E minor
Walter Gieseking - Chaconne on a theme by Scarlatti (K. 32)
Joseph Moog - piano

Ludwig van Beethoven - Bagatelles
Andreas Staier - piano

Erwin Schulhoff - 5 Stücke für Streichquartett
Signum Quartett:
Kerstin Dill - violin
Annette Walther - violin
Xandi van Dijk - viola
Thomas Schmitz - cello

Erwin Schulhoff - Sonata for Solo Violin
Daniel Hope - violin


Hector Berlioz - Roman Carnival Overture, Op. 9
Charles Dutoit - conductor

Johann Sebastian Bach - Concert in G minor BWV 1058
Andrea Bacchetti - piano
José Maria Florêncio - conductor

Krzysztof Penderecki - Adagio
Krzysztof Penderecki - conductor

Max Bruch - Romance in F major for Viola and Orchestra, Op. 85
Adrien Boisseau - viola
José Maria Florêncio - conductor

Georges Bizet - Adagietto from L'Arlésienne, Suite No. 1
François Xavier Roth - conductor

Gioacchino Rossini - Overture to William Tell
José Maria Florêncio - conductor
The Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra